Sunday 25 February 2018

Frankfurt draw line under gaffe

A GERMAN second division club are still pinching themselves in shock after they were on the receiving end of quite possibly the worse refereeing decision ever.

FSV Frankfurt were playing away to Duisburg last week and were 4-0 down when their 'keeper mis-hit a kick-out. Christian Tiffert then lobbed the 'keeper only for the ball to hit the bar and bounce more than a metre in front of the goal line.

As the ball bounced, linesman Thomas Munch signalled that the ball had crossed the line and referee Marco Fritz awarded a goal. Cue utter disbelief from both teams.

But Frankfurt didn't lodge an appeal and, in fact, they have shown a sense of humour by announcing details of a fans' competition with the promise that "whoever can hit the bar from 18 metres with the ball bouncing away from the goal gets free entry to the next match".

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport