Thursday 22 August 2019

FIFA Goal of the Year - Watch the 10 strikes up for Puskas Award in 2015

Lionel Messi, Carlos Tevez and Philippe Mexes are all up for the Puskas Award
Lionel Messi, Carlos Tevez and Philippe Mexes are all up for the Puskas Award

It's that time of the year when Fifa experts select the 10 finest goals scored around the world between 27 September 2014 and 23 September 2015.

Last year James Rodriguez picked up the Puskas Award for his stunning World Cup volley but who will triumph this time around?

Ireland's Stephanie Roche came runner-up to Rodriguez for her exceptional volleyed goal for Irish women's club Peamount United and US player Carli Lloyd is following in her footsteps this time round.

A shortlist of three will be announced on November 30 before the winner is announced next January.

Have a watch of the 10 goals that have made the cut below and then cast your vote in our poll. You can also make your voice heard by voting in the official Fifa contest here.

1. David Ball

Fleetwood Town v Preston North End, League One, 29 March 2015

2. Gonzalo Castro

Real Sociedad v Deportivo de la Coruna, La Liga, 12 April 2015

3. Alessandro Florenzi

AS Roma v FC Barcelona, Champions League, 16 September 2015

4. Wendell Lira

Atletico-GO v Goianesia, Brazilian Goiano, 11 March 2015

5. Carli Lloyd

USA v Japan, Fifa Women’s World Cup, 5 July 2015

6. Lionel Messi

Athletic Bilbao v FC Barcelona, Copa del Rey, 30 May 2015

7. Philippe Mexes

AC Milan v Inter Milan, Pre-Season Friendly, 25 July 2015

8. Marcel Ndjeng

Paderborn v Bolton Wanderers, Pre-Season Friendly, 13 July 2015

9. Esteban Ramírez

Herediano v Deportivo Saprissa, Costa Rican Primera Division Invierno, 2 November 2014

10. Carlos Tevez

Juventus v Parma, Italian Serie A, 9 November 2014

Online Editors

The Left Wing: The 'hell' of World Cup training camp, Ireland's half-back dilemma and All Blacks uncertainty

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport