Tuesday 20 March 2018

Draw for Euro 2016 takes place Saturday at 5pm and is live on RTÉ2

Ireland manager Martin O'Neill
Ireland manager Martin O'Neill

By dinner time on Saturday the Republic of Ireland squad and their fans will know what sort of task awaits them in France this summer.

The hour-long ceremony will be presented by former players and European Championship winners Bixente Lizarazu (France) and Ruud Gullit (Netherlands). The draws will be made by four other European Championship winners, David Trezeguet (France), Oliver Bierhoff (Germany), Angelos Charisteas (Greece) and Antonín Panenka (Czech Republic).

The teams have been seeded based on their UEFA co-efficient into four pots and the Republic of Ireland will be in Pot 4 while France, as hosts, have already been assigned to Group A and the position A1. The draws will commence at 5.23pm with Pot 4 due to be drawn at 5.32pm.

The breakdown of the four pots is as follows:

Pot 1: France*, Spain, Germany, England, Portugal, Belgium.

Pot 2: Italy, Russia, Switzerland, Austria, Croatia, Ukraine.

Pot 3: Czech Republic, Sweden, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary.

Pot 4: Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Iceland, Wales, Albania, Northern Ireland.

The teams will be drawn into six groups of four teams each (Groups A to F). The draw starts with Pot 1. One ball is drawn and the team is assigned to Group B, position B1; a second ball is drawn and the team is assigned to Group C, position C1; and so on till Group F.

The draw continues with Pot 4 which is Ireland’s pot. A ball is drawn and the team assigned to Group A. The position of this team within Group A is also determined by draw. A second ball is drawn from Pot 4 and assigned to Group B; again the position within Group B is drawn. The procedure is repeated for all teams in Pot 4.

The draw continues with Pot 3 and concludes with Pot 2. Each time a team is drawn the position within the relevant group is determined by draw. The top two in each plus the four best third-placed sides advance to the knockout phase. The finals will start on Friday, June 10, 2016, with the final taking place at Stade de France on Sunday, July 10.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport