Saturday 16 December 2017

UEFA confirm dramatic new changes to Champions League format

Carl Markham

The Premier League is set to have four teams qualifying automatically for the Champions League group stage from the 2018-19 season.

UEFA announced at a press conference on Friday that Europe's leading leagues in their co-efficient rankings - currently the Premier League, Spain's LaLiga, Germany's Bundesliga and Italy's Serie A - will all have automatic qualification for top-four finishers.

Under the current system there are automatic spots for the top three English, Spanish and German clubs, with a fourth having to qualify through a play-off.

In Italy only the top two qualify automatically with third contesting a play-off, which their clubs have failed to negotiate for the last three seasons.

More to follow

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport