Sunday 21 January 2018

Sergio Ramos could be in trouble for nasty off-the-ball elbow

Sergio Ramos appears to elbow Lucas Hernandez in the back of the head CREDIT: TWITTER
Sergio Ramos appears to elbow Lucas Hernandez in the back of the head CREDIT: TWITTER

Callum Davis

Sergio Ramos was fortunate not to be sent off on Tuesday evening after appearing to elbow Atletico Madrid defender Lucas Hernandez during their Champions League semi-final first leg at the Bernabeu.

The Real Madrid captain was shown the 22nd red card of his Los Blancos career during his side's El Clasico defeat to Barcelona.

The 31-year-old could easily have received his marching orders had English referee Martin Atkinson spotted his off-the-ball clash with Atletico Madrid full back, Hernandez.

With the half time whistle minutes away, Ramos attacked a Real Madrid corner looking to double the lead Ronaldo had given them in the 10th minute of the match.

As the two-time Champions League winner attempted to get on the end of Kroos' corner Ramos appeared to elbow Hernandez in the back of the head before competing for the ball.

If retrospective action is taken by Uefa the Spanish defender could miss Real Madrid's second leg at the Vicente Calderon, and could even miss the Champions League final in Cardiff.

In 2016 Uefa failed to take retrospective action after television footage appeared to show Marouane Fellaini elbowing Liverpool's Emre Can in the quarter-finals of the Europa League.

A statement from UEFA read: "The reports of the match officials did not include any mention of the alleged incidents, therefore no disciplinary proceedings have been opened for this."

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport