Q&A: Was Sergio Ramos's elbow on Lorius Karius spotted at the time?
A The incident was not spotted by the referee, television pundits or Liverpool's medical staff. There was no suggestion in any of the post-match analysis or commentary that Karius had suffered a serious blow and it was only when replays appeared on social media in the days after the game that it began to be discussed publicly.
Q What happened after the game?
A It is thought there was some concern about some of the symptoms that Karius complained of during his return to Liverpool from Kiev. He was then assessed at the club's Melwood training ground before being asked to visit a specialist in America, where he was going on holiday.
Q When was concussion diagnosed?
A The German was referred to a specialist in the USA only because it was believed he was suffering from concussion. That was confirmed after an examination at a hospital in Boston five days after the Champions League final.
Q Why did it take so long?
A Sources have stressed that although concussion was confirmed during Thursday's examination it was not the first time that the goalkeeper had been assessed. (© Daily Telegraph, London)