Saturday 24 March 2018

Annual award nominations signal a season of two Rovers

Daniel McDonnell

Daniel McDonnell

THE year of the Rovers has been recognised in the shortlist for Airtricity/Soccer Writers Association of Ireland Personality of the Year for 2010, with three contenders from Sligo and two from Shamrock Rovers in the running for the main gong.

The Hoops' league-winning manager Michael O'Neill is joined in the frame by star striker Gary Twigg after the Dubliners experienced championship glory for the first time since 1994.

Meanwhile, Sligo are rewarded for their FAI and EA Sports Cup double with boss Paul Cook nominated along with key midfielders Richie Ryan and Joseph Ndo, who both shone throughout the year.

The six-man shortlist is completed by Bray's Pat Devlin, who instigated an upturn in the club's fortunes by stepping into the dugout, lifting the Seagulls from bottom of the table and keeping them in the Premier Division after a dramatic promotion/relegation play-off with Monaghan.

Both Rovers are represented in the final three for Goalkeeper of the Year. Alan Mannus is in contention after a series of consistent performances for the Tallaght man, while Bit O'Red FAI Cup final hero Ciaran Kelly has also been put forward. Dundalk's Peter Cherrie completes the trio.

The SWAI award will be presented at the association's annual banquet in Dublin's Conrad Hotel on January 14.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport