Tuesday 20 February 2018

Simon Zebo and Craig Gilroy left out of Joe Schmidt's 34-man Six Nations squad

Simon Zebo Ireland's first try against Wales at the Millenium Stadium
Simon Zebo Ireland's first try against Wales at the Millenium Stadium

Simon Zebo is the most high profile omission from Joe Schmidt's pared down 34-man squad for Ireland's opening two Six Nations games with Scotland and Wales at the Aviva.

Ulster's Craig Gilroy has also failed to make the cut after an average showing in the Ireland Wolfhounds 14-8 win over the Saxons on Saturday.

There was good news for the uncapped forward trio of the Cardiff Blues Robin Copeland and Leinster pair Jordi Murphy and Martin Moore.

Kieran Marmion, Robbie Diack and Rodney Ah You are among those allowed to return to their province.

There is also no place for Munster out-half Ian Keatley or props Stephen Archer and Dave Kilcoyne.

Man of the match from the Wolfhounds game Isaac Boss also misses out with Joe Schmidt going with just two scrum-halves in the form of Eoin Reddan and Conor Murray.

Ireland's 34-man squad for Scotland and Wales

Forwards (18)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues)*

Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)

Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)*

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)*

Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)

Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Rhys Ruddock (St Mary's College/Leinster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)


Backs (16)

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Luke Marshall (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

* denotes uncapped players

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport