Thursday 16 August 2018

Ireland under-20s head coach Noel McNamara makes three changes to starting XV for visit of Wales

U-20s heac coach Noel McNamara. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
U-20s heac coach Noel McNamara. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Ireland under-20s Noel McNamara has made three personnel changes from the side that got the better of Italy a fortnight ago for Friday night's clash with Wales at Donnybrook (kick-off 7.15pm).

In the pack, Ronan Kelleher, has recovered from the illness that forced him out of the Italy game and he re-joins props Jordan Duggan and Jack Aungier in the front-row.

Cormac Daly and Jack Dunne continue their second-row partnership and the back-row is also unchanged, with Sean Masterson, Matthew Agnew and Jack O’Sullivan again lining out.

In the backs, scrum-half, Jonny Stewart returns to the side following his call-up to the Ulster senior side and he partners out-half Harry Byrne.

In midfield, James Hume will win his first cap and he partners fellow Ulster centre Angus Curtis.

Captain Tommy O’Brien moves to the wing and forms a back-three partnership with James McCarthy and full-back Michael Silvestre.

Speaking about his selection, McNamara said: "We are progressing well as a team and we have been building week on week.

"We had a good hit out against the senior squad in Athlone last week and the players have gone well in training since the Italy game.

"Wales bring a new challenge and it is one that the players are very much looking forward to.

"We took our foot off the pedal in the second half against Italy, so we’ll be looking for a more sustained performance this Friday."

Ireland under-20s:

15. Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

14. Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC/Leinster)  Captain

13. James Hume (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

12. Angus Curtis (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster)

11. James McCarthy (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

10. Harry Byrne (UCD RFC/Leinster)

9. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster)

1. Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster)

2. Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne FC/ Leinster)

3. Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

4. Cormac Daly (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

5. Jack Dunne (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

6. Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

7. Matthew Agnew (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

8. Jack O’Sullivan (UCC RFC/Munster)


16. Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen FC/Munster)

17. James French (UCC RFC/Munster)

18.Tom O’Toole (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

19. Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC/Leinster)

20. Ronan Foley (UCD RFC/Leinster)

21. Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

22. Conor Dean (St.Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

23. Angus Kernohan (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)'s U-20s Six Nations coverage is in association with PwC

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport