Sunday 25 February 2018

Twickenham touchlines

One of the great Days for Leinster

April 1, 2006

Toulouse 35

Leinster 41

DEFEAT to Munster at Croke Park in the subsequent Heineken Cup semi-final might have somewhat soured the memory for Leinster fans, but this was one of the tournament's -- and the province's -- greatest days.

Michael Cheika's charges took the French kingpins on at their own game, moving the ball wide and creating a series of scintillating scores before weathering a second-half comeback to win out.

Denis Hickie's length-of-the-field score from an audacious Felipe Contepomi decision to go wide from his own five-metre line summed up an outrageous day of rugby, and one which few will forget.

TOULOUSE --C Poitrenaud; V Clerc, F Fritz, Y Jauzion, C Heymans; F Michalak, JB Ellisalde; JP Poux, Y Bru, O Hasan; F Pelous, T Brennan; Y Nyanga, J Bouilhou, I Maka. Reps: R Millo-Chluski for Brennan (49), G Lamboley for Bouilhou (66), JF Dubois for Michalak (73), G Menkarska for Hasan (75), M Kunavore for Fritz (76), V Lacombe for Bru (79), M Medard for Poitrenaud (84).

LEINSTER -- G Dempsey; S Horgan, B O'Driscoll (capt), G D'Arcy, D Hickie; F Contepomi, G Easterby; R Corrigan, B Blaney, W Green; M O'Kelly, B Williams; C Jowitt, K Gleeson, J Heaslip. Reps: R McCormack for Corrigan (56), E Miller for Jowitt (66), R Kearney for D'Arcy (81), K Lewis for O'Driscoll (86).

Ref -- D Pearson (Eng)

Tweet of the day

Cronin's five a day:


"What a pick me up tune, stuck in traffic on the way to training and "fives" get on up comes on #oldschool #kindofashamed

Everyone needs a different way of relaxing ahead of the big game and Leinster's hooker has turned to the work of British boyband 5ive for inspiration.

Number of the day


Tomorrow's all-Irish Heineken Cup final will be broadcast across the world to television sets in 125 countries.

Quote of the day

"Being in the Heineken Cup final is juicy, but basically there's a brick wall between us and the cup in Ulster."

All Black World Cup winner and Leinster second-row Brad Thorn gets metaphorical ahead of tomorrow's clash.

Did you know?

Tonight's Challenge Cup final will see a new name etched on Europe's lesser coveted trophy, as neither Biarritz or Toulon have won the competition before. Whoever wins will follow a long line of victors, some of whom have drifted far from memory. They are: Bourgoin (1997), Colomiers ('98), Montferrand ('99), Pau (2000), Harlequins ('01, '04, '11), Sale ('02, '05), Wasps ('03), Gloucester ('06), Clermont ('07), Bath ('08), Northampton ('09) and Cardiff ('10).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport