Wednesday 22 November 2017

Tierney ends reign on a high as Con secure Cup hat-trick

Cork Constitution 24-9 Clontarf

Cork Constitution coach Tom Tierney
Cork Constitution coach Tom Tierney

Cork Constitution coach Tom Tierney ensured that he left the club on a winning note after his side powered their way to an impressive victory at Temple Hill on Saturday.

The Cork side had lost four consecutive league games prior to the weekend but as Tierney had predicted beforehand, the form-book went out the window as Con outclassed the defending league champions.

After guiding Con to their third straight Bateman Cup after winning the Women's Six Nations title in his first season in charge, Tierney's reputation continues to grow.

Tarf, who had one eye on this weekend's play-off semi-final, were second best throughout, and Darren Sweetnam's late breakaway try capped another memorable afternoon for Con.

Con's win makes them only the second club in the competition's history to complete a three-in-a-row - Lansdowne were first to achieve the feat back in 1929-31.


Three David Joyce penalties, in response to tries from Con back-rowers Luke Cahill and James Ryan that were converted by Darragh Lyons, kept Clontarf in touch at the break, trailing 14-9.

Lyons increased the lead with a drop-goal early in the second half and just as the Dubliners looked to be clawing their way back into the game, the Munster flyer struck the decisive blow.

Tarf lost the ball in contact and man-of-the-match Graeme Lawler offloaded to Rob Jermyn who in turn fed the on-rushing Sweetnam, who raced away under posts, and replacement Tomas Quinlan converted.

A late injury to Joyce will be a major concern for Tarf coach Andy Wood ahead of Saturday's league semi-final, but Tierney was left to savour the moment.

Cork Constitution - D Sweetnam; N Hodson, JJ O'Neill, N Kenneally, R Jermyn (T Quinlan 57); D Lyons (R Kermyn 67), G Hurley (c) (A Dorgan 75); G Duffy (A Slattery 60), M Abbott, G Sweeney (L O'Connor 62); C O'Flaherty (A Ross 75), G Lawler; L Cahill, J Murphy (S Dwyer 18), J Ryan.

Clontarf - R Keogh (Brown 67); M Brown (C O'Brien h/t), C O'Shea (E Ryan 67), M D'Arcy, M McFarland; D Joyce, S Cronin (c) (D O'Meara h/t); I Hirst (I Soroka 30), B Byrne, R Burke Flynn (Hirst 71); T Byrne (C O'Keefe 67), B Reilly; K Moran (L Og Murphy 13-18), A D'Arcy, A Ryan (R Litchfield 79).

Ref - D Wilkinson (IRFU)

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport