| 5.7°C Dublin

The selection committee

John Feehan (Ireland,

Lions chief executive)

CEO of the Lions since 2003, Dublin-born Feehan has declared his preference for the next Lions coach to come from the trio of Warren Gatland, Declan Kidney and Andy Robinson.

Tom Grace (Ireland)

One would suspect the current honorary treasurer and 1974 Lions tourist may well side with his compatriot Kidney should there be a tight vote.

Gerald Davies (Wales)

Won 46 Welsh caps and toured three times with the Lions, twice as a player and once as manager of the 2009 tour. May prefer Gatland after his release clause was signed with WRU.

Andy Irvine (Scotland)

Current Lions chairman and three-time tourist as a player, Irvine is not averse to allowing Ian McGeechan to embark upon a sixth Lions tour as player or coach.

John Spencer (England)

Won the first of 14 England caps against Ireland at Lansdowne Road in 1969 and toured with the Lions in 1974, playing on 10 occasions, but not in any of the Test matches against New Zealand.

Irish Independent