Tuesday 12 December 2017

The Last Five Meetings between Ireland and South Africa

Conor Murray, Ireland, is tackled by Pat Lambie, South Africa, November 2012
Conor Murray, Ireland, is tackled by Pat Lambie, South Africa, November 2012
Cian Tracey

Cian Tracey

This is how the two teams have fared in their last five encounters.

Ireland 12 S Africa 16

Nov 10, 2012, Lansdowne Road

Not a game that will ever be remembered for its quality. Ireland coughed up a nine-point half-time lead to lose by four.

Captain for the day, Jamie Heaslip was sin-binned ten minutes after the break before Ruan Pienaar crossed for the crucial score.

Johnny Sexton kicked four penalties for Declan Kidney's side while Pat Lambie kicked 11 points for the Boks.

Ireland - S Zebo; T Bowe, K Earls, G D'Arcy, A Trimble; J Sexton, C Murray; C Healy, R Strauss, M Ross; M McCarthy, D Ryan; P O'Mahony, C Henry, J Heaslip.

South Africa - Z Kirchner; JP Pietersen, J Taute, J de Villiers, F Hougaard; P Lambie, R Pienaar; CJ van der Linde, A Strauss, J du Plessis; E Etzebeth, J Kruger; F Louw, W Alberts, D Vermeulen.

REF - W Barnes (England)

Ireland 21  S.Africa 23

Nov 6, 2010, Lansdowne Road

Ireland were chasing their fourth consecutive win over the reigning World Champions in the first Test played at the Aviva Stadium.

Juan Smith's try and a Morne Steyn penalty had the Boks in control at half-time before Johnny Sexton opened his account. Gio Aplon sent the Boks clear and late tries from Tommy Bowe and Rob Kearney weren't enough.

Ireland - R Kearney; T Bowe, B O'Driscoll, G D'Arcy, L Fitzgerald; J Sexton, E Reddan; C Healy, R Best, T Buckley; D O'Callaghan, M O'Driscoll; S Ferris, D Wallace, J Heaslip.

South Africa - G Aplon; B Basson, Z Kirchner, J de Villiers, B Habana; M Steyn, R Pienaar; T Mtawarira, B du Plessis, J du Plessis; B Botha, V Matfield; D Stegmann, J Smith, P Spies.

REF - N Owens (Wales)

Ireland 15  S.Africa 10

Nov 29, 2009, Croke Park

In just his second Test, Johnny Sexton justified his controversial selection ahead of Ronan O'Gara to kick Ireland to victory.

O'Gara was dropped from the starting XV for the first time in six years against meaningful opposition, and Sexton's five penalties proved decisive.

The World Champions led 10-6 at half-time thanks to Schalk Burger's try and five points from Morne Steyn, but the out-half missed several chances to extend South Africa's lead while the nerveless Sexton kept his composure from the tee.

Ireland - R Kearney; T Bowe, B O'Driscoll, P Wallace, K Earls; J Sexton, T O'Leary; C Healy, J Flannery, J Hayes; D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell; S Ferris, D Wallace, J Heaslip.

South Africa - Z Kirchner; JP Pietersen, J Fourie, W Olivier, B Habana; M Steyn, F du Preez; T Mtawarira, J Smit, BJ Botha; A Bekker, V Matfield; H Brussow, S Burger, D Rossouw.

REF - N Owens (Wales)

Ireland 32  S.Africa 15

Nov 11, 2006, Lansdowne Road

Ireland's four-try haul was the first time in 100 years that they had managed such a feat against South Africa.

Ireland were breathtaking in the first half as they scored three tries, but it is Brian O'Driscoll's stunning one-handed pass, under pressure, for Shane Horgan to score the fourth, which will be most remembered.

Andrew Trimble, David Wallace and Marcus Horan crossed in the first half. Francois Steyn and Bryan Habana got consolation scores.

Ireland - G Dempsey; S Horgan, B O'Driscoll, G D'Arcy, A Trimble; R O'Gara, P Stringer; M Horan, R Best, J Hayes; D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell; N Best, D Wallace, D Leamy.

South Africa - B Fortuin; J Pretorious, B Habana, J de Villiers, F Steyn; A Pretorious, R Januarie; L Sephaka, J Smit, CJ van der Linde; J Ackerman, A van den Berg; D Rossouw, J Smith, P Spies.

REF - P Honiss (New Zealand)

Ireland 17  S.Africa 12

Nov 13, 2004, Lansdowne Road

Ronan O'Gara was the hero as he scored all of Ireland's points to inspire them to just their second ever victory over the Boks.

The Munster out-half put in a masterful display which was typified by his quickly taken tap-penalty that put Ireland in the driving seat at the break.

Schalk Burger was sent to the sin-bin after the interval and while two Percy Montgomery penalties set up a nervy finish, Ireland put in a terrific defensive shift to repel wave after wave of attacks.

Ireland - G Dempsey; G Murphy, B O'Driscoll, S Horgan, D Hickie; R O'Gara, P Stringer; R Corrigan, S Byrne, J Hayes, M O'Kelly, P O'Connell; S Easterby, J O'Connor, A Foley.

South Africa - P Montgomery; B Paulse, M Joubert, DW Barry, A Willemse; J van der Westhuyzen, F Du Preez; O Du Randt, J Smit, E Andrews; B Botha, V Matfield; S Burger, AJ Venter, J Van Niekerk.

REF - P Honiss (New Zealand)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport