Wednesday 25 April 2018

Supersub O'Neill secures Leinster glory

Munster 10
Leinster 20
Schools inter-pros

Leinster were deserving winners of this 100th game between the provinces as they won the championship at Musgrave Park.

Steve Crosbie put Leinster ahead with a penalty after seven minutes and then converted Conor McEllin's 28th-minute try.

Darragh McNamara replied with a penalty, then finished the move of the game before converting to level the scores.

Munster improved in the second half but Crosbie kicked another penalty and converted substitute Jack O'Neill's try to seal victory for the visitors.

Munster -- S Dinan (PBC); P O'Sullivan (Crescent Comp) (C Kiely Rockwell 69), S Glynn (PBC), R Scannall (PBC), C Murphy (St Munchin's); D McNamara (CBC), C O'Regan (CBC) (R Foley CBC 70); C O'Donnell (Rockwell) (D Canny Ard Scoil Ris 69), B Scott (PBC) (D Montgomery St Munchin's 70), N Horan (Crescent Comp) (D Canny Ard Scoil Ris 41) (N Horan 59); E Ryan (St Munchin's), S McCarthy (Rockwell); G Ryan (St Munchin's) (B Haugh Rockwell 69), D Ryan(St Munchin's) (W Foley PBC 53), R Murphy.

Leinster -- J Fitzpatrick (Gonzaga); M Mellett(Castleknock), C McEllin(Blackrock), R Kavanagh (St Michael's), M Roche (Blackrock); S Crosbie(St Gerard's), L McGrath capt (St Michael's); E Byrne (Clongowes), B Byrne (Clongowes), A Boland (Blackrock); J Sexton(St Mary's), G Thornbury (Blackrock); C Kilcoyne (Blackrock) (J O'Neill Castleknock 46), D Leavy (St Michaels), L Satchwell (Kings Hospital).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport