Sunday 19 November 2017

Staunton named as head of seven-man connacht board

Details of the review carried out into Connacht will include a new commitment from Munster, Leinster and Ulster to release developing players to play for Connacht.

Connacht will strive to improve on and off the field with a seven-man board of directors charged with overseeing the professional game in the West.

That board will be headed up by successful Castlebar businessman Jimmy Staunton and will also include former Connacht and Ireland scrum-half Conor McGuinness, Ballina solicitor Pat O'Connor, Athlone accountant Liam Rattigan, last year's Connacht president Steve Cunningham, former Galwegians chairman Simon Heaslip and marketing director Damian Devaney from Sligo.

This Professional Game Board will oversee Connacht for the next three years as they bid to close the gap between them and the other provinces.

Munster (squad v Cardiff Blues) -- Forwards: W du Preez, Dave Ryan, D Varley, M Sherry, T Buckley, P Borlase, J Hayes, M O'Driscoll, I Nagle, D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell, A Quinlan, B Holland, N Ronan, D Wallace, D Leamy, P O'Mahony, Backs: P Stringer, T O'Leary, R O'Gara, P Warwick, D Hurley, S Tuitupou, K Earls, B Murphy, L Mafi, J Murhy, S Deasy, D Howlett.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport