Saturday 24 February 2018

Robinson challenges team to "take the next step"

Head coach Andy Robinson has challenged the Scotland team for Saturday's Calcutta Cup clash at Murrayfield to be ruthless and finish off their hard work.

Robinson today named the Scotland team for the fourth match in the RBS 6 Nations Championship. There's one change in personnel and one positional switch from the starting team that lost to Italy in Rome last month.

Edinburgh's 26-year-old Nick De Luca, will start at outside centre. He will be winning his 16th cap, and will be making his first start for Scotland since the victory over Canada at Pittodrie in 2008.

Max Evans moves to the left wing with Simon Danielli switching to the bench.

Scrum-half Mike Blair and prop Alasdair Dickinson have been ruled out through concussion sustained in their weekend club matches, while Dickinson's Gloucester team-mate, Alasdair Strokosch has also been sidelined - with the recurrence of an ankle injury.

Rory Lawson, who played a major part in Scotland's win against Australia last autumn, Geoff Cross and Alan MacDonald are thus listed on the bench.

Andy Robinson said: "The team has played some good rugby and we have been creating chances. We just need to take that next step and finish off a game.

"Max has been our most potent attacker and we also want to see Nick and the qualities that he can bring to this game."

Robinson also confirmed that players and management from the Scotland squad will be attending the Bill McLaren Tribute Night at Murrayfield on Thursday. The night, which begins at 6.30pm, will celebrate the rich and varied contribution of The Voice of Rugby to the expansion of the sport's popularity.

All supporters are welcome to the event. Admission is free. The stadium opens at 5pm and some of the game's greatest ever players will be on hand to offer their tributes to Bill.

Scotland team (sponsor Murray) to play England in the RBS 6 Nations Championship at Murrayfield on Saturday 13 March, kick-off 5pm

Scotland Team

1 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh) 43 caps

2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh) 36 caps, 10 points through 2 tries

3 Euan Murray (Northampton Saints) 30 caps, 10 points through 2 tries

4 Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh) 25 caps

5 Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps

6 Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 33 caps, 15 points through 3 tries

7 John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors) 16 caps, 10 points through 2 tries

8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps, 10 points through 2 tries

9 Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) 50 caps, 15 points through 3 tries CAPTAIN

10 Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors) 49 caps, 107 points through 4 tries, 16 penalties, 9 conversions, 7 drop goals

11 Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors) 9 caps, 10 points through 2 tries

12 Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors) 21 caps, 15 points through 3 tries

13 Nick De Luca (Edinburgh) 15 caps

14 Sean Lamont (Scarlets) 43 caps, 35 points through 7 tries

15 Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais) 50 caps, 40 points through 8 tries


16 Scott Lawson (Gloucester) 19 caps, 10 points through 2 tries

17 Geoff Cross (Edinburgh) 1 cap

18 Nathan Hines (Leinster) 63 caps, 10 points through 2 tries

19 Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh) 2 caps

20 Rory Lawson (Gloucester) 17 caps

21 Phil Godman (Edinburgh) 22 caps, 71 points through 1 try, 12 conversions, 14 penalties

22 Simon Danielli (Ulster) 23 caps, 30 points through 6 tries

Not considererd through injury: Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson and Alasdair Strokosch (both Gloucester)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport