Thursday 23 January 2020

New era for French rugby as Fabien Galthie names 19 uncapped players in Six Nations squad

Fabien Galthie has named his first Six Nations squad as France head coach. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile
Fabien Galthie has named his first Six Nations squad as France head coach. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Toulon flanker Charles Ollivon will captain France in this season's Guinness Six Nations Championship.

The 26-year-old's first match in charge is against England at Stade de France on February 2.

Ollivon, whose appointment was announced by the French Rugby Federation, takes over from Guilhem Guirado, who has retired from Test rugby.

It is the first key playing appointment of new Les Blues' head coach Fabien Galthie's reign.

"I will take advantage of every second because it is a great honour," Ollivon told the FFR website.

"Fabien (Galthie) called me when I was at home. It was a special moment. I look forward to starting this new adventure."

Galthie, meanwhile, has named a 42-man squad ahead of the tournament, including 19 uncapped players.

The list of international rookies includes Lyon lock Killian Geraci, Clermont Auvergne back-row forward Alexandre Fischer, plus backs Maxime Lucu, Louis Carbonel and Arthur Vincent.

And among a number of established names to miss out are wing Yoann Huget, fly-half Camille Lopez, scrum-half Maxime Machenaud, prop Rabah Slimani and flanker Wenceslas Lauret.

France 2020 Six Nations squad


Dorian Aldegheri, Cyril Baille, Demba Bamba, Camille Chat, Anthony Etrillard, Jean-Baptiste Gros, Mohamed Haouas, Julien Marchand, Jefferson Poirot, Cyril Cazeaux, Killian Geraci, Bernard le Roux, Boris Palu, Romain Taofifenua, Paul Willemse, Gregory Alldritt, Dylan Cretin, Francois Cros, Alexandre Fischer, Sekou Macalou, Charles Ollivon, Selevasio Tolofua, Cameron Woki.


Antoine Dupont, Maxime Lucu, Baptiste Serin, Louis Carbonel, Mathieu Jalibert, Romain Ntamack, Gael Fickou, Julien Heriteau, Virimi Vakatawa, Arthur Vincent, Gervais Cordin, Lester Etien, Gabriel Ngandebe, Damian Penaud, Vincent Rattez, Teddy Thomas, Anthony Bouthier, Kylan Hamadoui, Thomas Ramos.

PA Media

The Left Wing: Schools rugby special - 'The St Michael’s dream team are the side to beat'

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport