Wednesday 17 January 2018

Mike Brown escapes citing following Conor Murray kicking incident

England full-back Mike Brown has not been cited for kicking Conor Murray in Saturday's RBS 6 Nations victory over Ireland, tournament organisers have announced.

The Harlequins looked to be in potentially hot water after he attempted to fly-hack the ball out of the Ireland scrum-half's hands during the Six Nations match at Twickenham on Saturday.

Brown aimed several kicks in an attempt to dislodge the ball, even when Murray held it in his hands off the ground.

The Limerick native required stitches to a head wound after Brown's foot struck his head but referee Romain Poite judged that the contact was accidental.

Brown, who scored a try to keep their Championship and Grand Slam dreams alive, took to Twitter to insist it was an accidental kick.

"Video ref clearly showed I didn't [do anything wrong] and kicked the ball," he wrote.

Joe Schmidt has called for World Rugby to review the laws surrounding kicking the ball out of the ruck amid growing fears for player safety.

"Look, I'm not going to chase those things," Schmidt said. "They're decisions that officials make and they make them under pressure and they have other people look at things. I've never chased one of those and I won't start now."

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport