Sunday 17 December 2017

Johnny Sexton at 10 in Irish team to face Wales at Aviva

Johnny Sexton gets the nod for the Wales Six Nations clash
Johnny Sexton gets the nod for the Wales Six Nations clash
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

THE Ireland team to play Wales in the RBS 6 Nations Championship on Sunday, February 5th in Aviva Stadium has been named.

There are three changes to the side that lined out against the same opposition in Ireland’s last game in the 2011 Rugby World Cup.

Keith Earls will start at centre alongside Gordon D’Arcy with Andrew Trimble coming into the team on the left wing. In the half-backs Jonathan Sexton will win his 25th cap and he is partnered by Conor Murray.

The pack is unchanged from the last game with Paul O’Connell wearing the captain’s armband. The uncapped Peter O’Mahony is named in the replacements.

The game kicks-ff at 5pm on Sunday in the Aviva Stadium

15 - Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

14 - Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)

13 – Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

12 - Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

11 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

10 - Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

9 - Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

1 - Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

2 - Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

3 - Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

4 - Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)

5 - Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster) Captain

6 - Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)

7 - Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)

8 - Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)


16 - Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

17 - Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)

18 - Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

19 – Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

20 - Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

21 - Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)

22 – Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

*Denotes uncapped player

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport