Monday 27 January 2020

Johnny Sexton and Donnacha Ryan on RBS Six Nations top player shortlist

THE shortlist for the official 2012 RBS Player of the Championship has been announced.

Fans can now decide the final result at

Ireland’s Jonathan Sexton and Donnacha Ryan will be looking to take the award back to Dublin, after it was won by their team mate Tommy Bowe in 2010 and injured captain Brian O’Driscoll in 2009.

With Wales favourite to lift the trophy on Saturday, four Wales names dominate the shortlist of 12 players with Sam Warburton, Dan Lydiate, Alex Cuthbert and Mike Philips all receiving a nod.

Despite not being in the running for the title this year, France has three votes with Julien Malzieu, Yoann Maestri and Imanol Harinordoquy all making the shortlist.

The two teams battling to avoid the wooden spoon have also made the list, Scotland has two nominations with David Denton and Ross Rennie and Italy captain Sergio Parisse also makes the final list.

England, who Ireland face in Twickenham on Saturday, don’t have any player on the list.

All players recognised by the relevant television host broadcaster as RBS Man of the Match during the first four weekends of the Championship were automatically placed in contention for the prestigious award.

The winner will be chosen by rugby fans from across the six nations who are being asked to vote for their RBS Player of the Championship, based on performance, form and achievement.

The Throw-In: Dublin-Kerry cracker, scrap the advanced mark and Limerick's psychological boost

In association wth Allianz

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport