Tuesday 16 July 2019

Ireland women's coach makes four changes for Six Nations clash with Wales

Ireland women’s coach Adam Griggs. Photo: Sportsfile
Ireland women’s coach Adam Griggs. Photo: Sportsfile
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Ireland head coach Adam Griggs ha made four changes from the 21-8 victory over Italy for the visit of Wales to Donnybrook this Sunday (kick-off 3pm).

Ciara O’Connor and Leah Lyons, who both featured off the bench in the opening rounds of the tournament, start alongside Lindsey Peat in the front row.

Nichola Fryday is partnered in the second row by Orla Fitzsimons.

Paula Fitzpatrick moves to Number 8 to accommodate the change while captain Ciara Griffin moves to the blindside. Claire Molloy completes the back-row trio.

There is one change in the backline with Claire McLaughlin starting for the injured Alison Miller alongside Megan Williams and Kim Flood.

Sene Naoupu and Katie Fitzhenry are again named at centre with Ailsa Hughes and Niamh Briggs in the half-backs.

Both Briggs and Molloy will receive their 60th international cap.

Speaking ahead of the game, Head Coach, Griggs said "We got a good boost after the win over Italy a fortnight ago. We did what we wanted to, played with tempo and moved the ball. While the performance was far from perfect, we set a marker down for the rest of the campaign.

"We now head into a tough test on Sunday against the Welsh. We are looking to rectify some of the areas of our game that we haven't been happy with over the past few weeks and if we can make those small changes, it should be a great one.

"Having the crowd behind us against Italy really spurred us on, so we're hoping to see another big turnout of fans on Sunday in Donnybrook."

Ireland team:

15 - Kim Flood (Railway Union/ Leinster)

14 - Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

13 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College/ Leinster)

12 - Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

11 - Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/ Ulster)

10 - Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian / Munster)

9 - Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)

1 - Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)

2 - Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians/ Connacht)

3 - Leah Lyons (Highfield/ Munster)

4- Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary's/ Leinster)

5 - Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/ Connacht)

6 - Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster) Captain

7 - Claire Molloy (Bristol)

8 - Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary's/ Leinster)


16- Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)

17 - Laura Feely (Galweigians/ Connacht)

18 - Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)

19 – Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)

20 – Edel McMahon (Galwegians/ Connacht)

21 – Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/ Munster)

22 – Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College/ Leinster)

23 – Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport