| 8.1°C Dublin

Ireland team named for Six Nations showdown with England as Gibson-Park, Henshaw and Baird to start


Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named his team to face England

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named his team to face England

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named his team to face England

Andy Farrell has made three changes to his team for their final push towards a fourth Grand Slam.

Caelan Doris and Dan Sheehan have been declared fit after coming off early in Murrayfield last weekend in what is a major boost to the head coach for what should be a defining day against his native England.

He is without Garry Ringrose, Iain Henderson and Ronan Kelleher after they got injured against Scotland, so Robbie Henshaw comes into the centre, Ryan Baird partners James Ryan in midfield and Rob Herring comes on to the bench along with Kieran Treadwell and Jimmy O'Brien.

Jamison Gibson-Park partners Johnny Sexton in the only tactical change, with Conor Murray dropping to the bench.

Otherwise, it's as you were against Scotland with Hugo Keenan, Mack Hansen and James Lowe in the back-three, Bundee Aki alongside Henshaw and Sexton leading the side.

Up front, Andrew Porter goes again after an 80 minute shift against Scotland, as he and Sheehan pack down with Tadhg Furlong.

In the back-row, Jack Conan is kept in reserve after a big shift in Edinburgh as Doris plays at No 8 with Peter O'Mahony and Josh van der Flier - in what will be his 50th cap - making up the back-row.

After his heroics last week, Cian Healy remains on the bench and available to play anywhere as Herring covers hooker and Tom O'Toole again braces himself for an impact.

Murray and Ross Byrne cover the half-back positions, with O'Brien covering the outside back positions.

England, who are looking to bounce back after a record defeat to France, name their team at 5pm.

Ireland: H Keenan; M Hansen, R Henshaw, B Aki, J Lowe; J Sexton (capt), J Gibson-Park; A Porter, D Sheehan, T Furlong; R Baird, J Ryan; P O'Mahony, J van der Flier, C Doris. Reps: R Herring, C Healy, T O'Toole, K Treadwell, J Conan, C Murray, R Byrne, J O'Brien.

England: Freddie Steward; Anthony Watson, Henry Slade, Manu Tuilagi, Henry Arundell, Owen Farrell (captain), Jack van Poortvliet; Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Kyle Sinckler, Maro Itoje, David Ribbans, Lewis Ludlam, Jack Willis, Alex Dombrandt. Replacement: Jack Walker, Mako Vunipola, Dan Cole, Nick Isiekwe, Ben Curry, Alex Mitchell, Marcus Smith, Joe Marchant.

Most Watched