| 12°C Dublin

'Evidence to suggest' Wales star George North was bitten in defeat to France


Wales' George North complains about an alleged bite

Wales' George North complains about an alleged bite


Wales' George North complains about an alleged bite

Wales are waiting to hear if any action will be taken after claiming there was "evidence to suggest" wing George North had been bitten during Saturday's RBS 6 Nations clash against France.

Any available video footage proved inconclusive after match referee Wayne Barnes stopped the game amid 20 minutes of added time at Stade de France.

No on-pitch action followed, but match citing commissioner John Montgomery has until 5pm on Monday to decide whether any incident should be reported and a disciplinary hearing convened.

World Rugby's sanctions for biting start at a 12-week suspension for a low-end offence, rising to 24 weeks and above for top-end

Reflecting on the incident, Wales' interim head coach Rob Howley said: "It's gone to the television match official.

"The evidence was inconclusive in terms of the images that were shown to the referees, and ultimately they've made a decision on that and it is absolutely fine.

"I am 100 per cent behind that decision in terms of the pictures they saw.

"Obviously, there is evidence to suggest otherwise on George's arm. The evidence suggests there is a bite.

"The referee only had one angle. I haven't seen any other angles, so unfortunately it is inconclusive and you move on.

"I am sure you can ask George if you can have a look at his arm. There is evidence to suggest that there is a bite."

North's team-mate, flanker Justin Tipuric, added: "He (North) came in to the dressing room and you could see a big bite mark on his arm.

"He went to the ref and talked to him about it. But there is a big bite mark there. That's all I have seen."

The North episode was part of a highly-controversial finale at Stade de France, which was dominated by France questionably sending prop Rabah Slimani back on as Les Bleus posted a late converted try to win 20-18..

Slimani had earlier been replaced, but the France team doctor insisted that initial prop substitute Uini Atonio needed a head injury assessment, therefore allowing Slimani to go back on as France laid siege to Wales' line through a series of scrums.

Read more here:

Online Editors