Sunday 27 May 2018

Vintage Brewer inspires Terenure

Terenure 20
Clongowes Wood 10
Leinster schools Junior Cup

Tony Ward

Tony Ward

Defending champions Terenure College duly qualified for the final and set up a repeat of last year's showpiece against double-chasing St Michael's.

On a difficult Donnybrook playing surface, the standard of rugby did great credit to both schools and it was the best contest in the competition thus far.

Ultimately the 'Nure deserved their win, but were made to work all the way by a Clongowes side equally committed to keeping the ball in hand.

The game had hardly started when the dynamic Dylan Donnellan pounced on loose possession to rip the 'Nure cover apart in a try-scoring run of fully 40 metres. William Lappin converted and, thus, with barely a minute on the clock, the 2008 winners were seven points to the good.

But, this is a particularly talented Terenure squad and this early setback was soon addressed.

Loose head Silvio Borza, second-row captain Rob Sommerville, as well as silky centre Stephen O'Neill, all made their mark, but the colossus on the day was their No 8 Harrison Brewer. He is not just a strong and dynamic runner, but has the footballing intellect to match. Even at this tender age, he looks the real deal. Remember the name.

On this occasion he was part of a 'Nure team, which despite starting so badly, regrouped to rattle up 20 points while conceding just one further penalty against such dangerous opposition.

A successful O'Neill penalty had narrowed the gap to four in the 28th minute, before the same player combined with Brewer, and Jimmy McCormack for the latter to send Tom O'Brien racing clear. O'Neill converted for a three-point lead (10-7) going into the break.

'Nure took up where they left off in the second period. Brewer almost crossed, before Borza eventually did for O'Neill to convert and give them a 17-7 lead.

Lappin made it 17-10 in the 58th minute, only for O'Neill to reply and complete the scoring with a penalty.

Terenure -- R Church; N O'Connor, S O'Neill, R Carroll (J McCormack 15) (H Nwankwo 49) , T O'Brien; J Lynch, G Clarkin; S Borza, J Carroll, K Colgan; M Murphy, R Somerville (capt); N O'Sullivan (S Gaffney 18m), P Thornton, H Brewer.

Clongowes -- C Burke (C Bracken-Price 24); A Jeffares, J Murphy, D O'Sullivan, A Linnane; W Lappin, P Maher; D Garty, D Donnellan, J Inglis (C Gillick 68); M White (I Brady 68), O Hassett; S Quinlan (M Jones 47), A Dudeney, D Doyle (capt).

Ref -- B Montayne (ARLB).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport