Wednesday 21 March 2018

Forward power gives Castletroy vital edge

Castletroy 15 St Clement's 0 Munster Schools Senior Cup

Joseph Conway, Castletroy College, is tackled by James Flanagan, St. Clements College (SPORTSFILE)
Joseph Conway, Castletroy College, is tackled by James Flanagan, St. Clements College (SPORTSFILE)
Joshua Page, St. Clements College, in action against Castletroy College (SPORTSFILE)
Shane Mullins, Castletroy College, is tackled by Joshua Page, St. Clements College (SPORTSFILE)
Aran Hehir, St. Clements College (SPORTSFILE)

Two second-half tries within minutes of each other gave Castletroy College their place in the semi-finals.

Now favourites to win out the competition, Castletroy had to work hard for their win against a St Clement's side who improved considerably on their previous outing.

It was a close and exciting first half at the end of which Castletroy led by 5-0.

The try came after their dominant pack set up a move involving several players which culminated with fly-half Stephen Atkinson going over.

Clement's were very much in the game in that half but once the quick-fire second-half tries arrived they were left with too much to do.

The game was over as a contest after 47 minutes by which stage Castletroy had completed their scoring.

Again the forwards paved the way for the second try, scored by prop Joey Conway (below).

Then, a delightful inter-passing movement involving backs and forwards sent winger Eoghan Carew in for the third try.

Today, Rockwell play Crescent in Clanwilliam (2.30), while Ardscoil Ris meet CBC at UL (2.0).

Castletroy College - S Hogan; S Mullins, R McDonnell, P Clancy, E Carew; S Atkinson, C Lyons; J Conway, D O'Neill, C Myers; E Slattery, S English; E Hourigan, N O'Shea, D Reeves-Walsh. Reps: A Myers, M Ryan, S Fitzpatrick, C Bermingham, G Clancy, C Cosgrave, R hannon, M Rowsome.

St Clement's College - S Keane; J Flanagan, N Clancy, J Page, J Flynn; J Higgins, A Hehir; T McMahon, D Gleeson, C Clancy; A Quinlivan, D Cotter; S Brosnahan, E Murnane, E Haxhiaj. Reps: D Daly-Conway, D Browne, S Ryan-Tobin, D Mortell, S Willmot.

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport