| 5.1°C Dublin

Dixon sparks Iognaid stroll

ColAiste IognAid, whose bid for a first three-in-a-row was ended in the final last year, cruised into the semi-final after demolishing the most prolific winners of the title at Newcastle yesterday.

First-half tries from the superb Bryan Dixon and winger Sam Knight gave the 2009 champions a firm grip on a spot in the last four, before Jordan Healy's second-half try made sure of the win.

Garbally, champions 44 times but who have only won two in the past 13 years, enjoyed good spells in the first half but could not score.

Dixon broke for the first try after 23 minutes and Knight crossed five minutes later to give the Galway city side a 12-0 lead at the break.

Flanker Michael Burke was sin-binned 12 minutes after the restart for Colaiste Iognaid, but they still managed to increase their lead when Healy crossed four minutes later from close in to seal the victory.

Colaiste Iognaid -- N Murphy; R Butler (P Kelehan 70), F Bourne, B Dixon, S Knight (R Browne 53); D Cunnane, P Power; D Wilkinson, R Murray, R Brennan, J Healy, J O'Donnell, M Burke (J Divilly 68), J Kennedy, C Murphy.

Garbally College -- M Tiernan; C Clogher, D Freeman, K O'Neill, C Loughrey, R Keller; D Murray; T Murphy (K Gavin 32), D Byrne, D Walsh, S Curtin (D Goode h-t), A Loughrey (P McCormack 43), N Gibbons (P Connolly 61), D Curley, J Walshe.

Ref -- J Doyne (CBIRFU).

Irish Independent