Wednesday 29 January 2020

Blackrock and Belvedere lead the way in Tony Ward's Irish Independent Leinster Schools XV Newsdesk Newsdesk

After another cracking schools rugby season, Tony Ward has selected his Leinster schools dream team.

The Irish Independent columnist studied the Leinster senior cup competition rigorously to pick his star-studded XV, with Blackrock and Belvedere - who played out a brilliant final on St Patrick's Day - leading the way with five selections each.

Hugh O'Sullivan, David Hawkshaw, Oran O'Brien, Ruadhan Byron and Max Kearney were selected for the northside Dublin school, while Blackrock had Tom Roche, David Heavey, Patrick Patterson, Stephen McLoughlin and Andrew Murphy in the side.

Gonzaga, St Mary's, Clongowes and St Fintan's were also represented.

Here is Tony Ward's Irish Independent Leinster Schools XV for 2017, sponsored by Bank of Ireland.

15. HUGH O’SULLIVAN (Belvedere)

14. JAMES KENNY (Gonzaga)

13. TOM ROCHE (Blackrock)

12. BEN O’SHEA (Clongowes)

11. DAVID HEAVEY (Blackrock)

10. DAVID HAWKSHAW (Belvedere)


1.  NIALL Mc ENIFF  (St Mary’s)

2. STEPHEN Mc LOUGHLIN (Blackrock)

3. JACK AUNGIER (St Fintan's High School)

4. ANDREW MURPHY (Blackrock)

5. ORAN O’BRIEN (Belvedere)

6. RUADHAN BYRON (Belvedere)

7. MAX KEARNEY (Belvedere)

8.  SEAN Mc CROHAN (Clongowes)

For more pictures from the Irish Independent Leinster Top XV awards ceremony, pick up next Friday’s Irish Independent (March 31st) for your exclusive Leinster Rugby Supplement.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Ireland's Six Nations target, a French revival and Ian Madigan's future

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport