Tuesday 24 October 2017

Scarlets triumph as Penney's men fluff their lines

Scarlets 18 Munster 13

Gerhard Van Den Heever, Munster, races ahead of Olly Barkley, Scarlets to score his side's first try
Gerhard Van Den Heever, Munster, races ahead of Olly Barkley, Scarlets to score his side's first try
Simon Zebo, Munster, evades the tackle of Gareth Davies, Scarlets

Munster missed the chance to extend their lead at the top of the Pro12 table after they were edged out by the Scarlets at Parc y Scarlets in Llanelli.

Rob Penney's men had more than enough chances to secure a second win in Wales in a week after last Sunday's success at the Ospreys, but they fell just short as they slipped to a third defeat of the domestic season. Gerhard van den Heever scored Munster's solitary try, but he had another ruled out and could have crossed for two more as the visitors dominated in the second half.

Ian Keatley's 14th-minute reply to Olly Barkley's penalty saw them stay level until Gareth Davies crossed for an unconverted try after 26 minutes.

They weren't behind for too long though, as Van den Heever raced away for a sucker-punch score with 36 minutes gone. Keatley's conversion from under the posts moved Munster 10-8 in front. And things got even better before the break as Keatley struck a second penalty.

A 13-8 half-time lead could have been extended a minute after the restart when Keatley pulled a penalty wide but, instead, they were behind after 52 minutes as the Scarlets struck 10 quick-fire points through a John Barclay try and two kicks from Aled Thomas.

Munster trailed 18-13 at that point, but they would have been back level on the hour had Van den Heever taken Casey Laulala's cross-field kick with the line at his mercy. The 24-year-old flyer thought he made amends three minutes later when he dived over in the right-hand corner but the TMO ruled that Williams had knocked on.

Scorers – Scarlets: G Davies try; Barclay try, pen; Thomas pen, con Munster: Van den Heever try; Keatley 2 pens, con

Scarlets: J Williams; K Phillips, J Davies (G Maule 64), O Barkley, F Climo, A Thomas, G Davies (R Williams 64); P John (R Evans 76), E Phillips, S Lee (J Adriaanse 69), G Earle, J Snyman, J Turnbull (S Timani 76), J Barclay, R McCusker (capt).

Munster: S Zebo; G van den Heever, C Laulala, D Hurley, J Murphy (R O'Mahony 66), I Keatley (JJ Hanrahan 61), D Williams (G Hurley 76); D Kilcoyne (J Cronin 69), D Casey, S Archer (BJ Botha 4-13, 64), D O'Callaghan (D Foley 54), D Ryan, CJ Stander (S Dougall 64), T O'Donnell, J Coughlan (capt).

Referee: D Phillips (IRFU).

Sunday Indo Sport

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport