Thursday 26 April 2018

Ruddock's U-20s surge past Scots

Jack O'Donoghue, Ireland. Picture credit: David Maher / SPORTSFILE
Jack O'Donoghue, Ireland. Picture credit: David Maher / SPORTSFILE

Ireland U-20 emerged 30-17 winners in a Junior World Championship warm-up against Scotland on Murrayfield's outer pitch to give the Irish a boost ahead of their opener against France in Auckland next month.

Ireland trailed at the interval after coming off second best against a robust Scotland pack but a strong second-half display in which they showed finesse in their back play produced three tries.

"We've got some good systems in place to try to get width and pace on the game when we get quality ball. But we struggled for periods in the game against a very good Scottish pack," said coach Mike Ruddock.

No 8 and captain Jack O'Donoghue and centre Garry Ringrose impressed.

Ireland scored within a minute through full-back David Busby, but Scotland led 12-8 at the break. Tries from Billy Dardis, Dan Goggin and Peadar Timmins sealed the victory after the break.

Ireland u20 – D Busby; C Kelleher, G Ringrose, D Goggin, A Wootton ; R Byrne, R Foley; D Coulson, M Abbott, C Trenier , D Moloney, R Molony, F Taggart, D Dee, J O'Donoghue. Reps: S Gardiner, P Timmins , D Henry, C McKeon , P Robb, R Moloney , J Murphy, C Gaffney, B Dardis.


Leinster are the new Junior Interprovincial champions but they had to fight back from a 21-7 deficit to earn a 21-21 draw with Ulster at Dromore on Saturday.

Ulster had to win to take the title but with Munster beating Connacht 21-16, the northerners could only finished third.

In a game of six yellow cards, Ulster led 14-7 at half-time before tries from Niall O'Donoghue and Barry Stewart, which Bill Duggan converted, completed Leinster's comeback.

Ulster – A Finlay; A Hodgen, G Clotworthy, J Morgan, P Cartmill; N Lawther, S Nelson (c); C Nash, P Whyte, J Blair, G Fitzpatrick, K Morton, G McCoy, C Hamilton, J Johnston. Reps: K Egan, S Finlay, M Neilly, J Carleton, R Boyd, J Clegg, G Weatherup.

Leinster – S McGee; N O'Donoghue, J Williams, B Swindlehurst, J Butterworth; B Duggan, TC Campbell (c); J Clifford, J Lee, D Quinn, N Smullen, G Mullen, B Stewart, D Gilchrist, D Broughall. Reps: K McCarthy, C McCormack, D O'Connor, A Hanley, G Kennedy, C Jebb, R Doyle.

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport