Sunday 17 December 2017

Rampant lions: complete List OF Series VICTORIES

1891: South Africa – English centre Randolph Aston scored 31 tries on the tour as the visitors won all of their matches. 3-0

1896: South Africa . 3-1

1899: Australia – Charles ­Adamson stole the show, scoring 17 of the Lions' 38 points in the Test matches. 3-1

1904: Australia – Led by Scotsman David Bedell-Sivright, the Lions powered past the Australians. 3-0

1950: Australia. 2-0

1959: Australia. 2-0

1966: Australia. 2-0

1971: New Zealand – Their only successful tour in New Zealand. Wales fly-half Barry John scored 30 points as the visitors took the series. 2-1

1974: South Africa – The Lions, captained by Ireland's Willie John McBride, defeated the Springboks in three of the four Tests, with one draw. 3-0

1989: Australia – A fine kicking performance from Gavin Hastings saw the Lions victorious in the final Test, 19-18 in Sydney, to win the series. 2-1

1997: South Africa – After winning the World Cup in 1995, South Africa hosted the tour. The visitors, captained by Martin Johnson, won the first two Tests to secure the series. 2-1

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport