Sunday 15 December 2019

Tommy O’Donnell among Munster replacements as Leinster make eight changes for Zebre

Munster flanker Tommy O’Donnell
Munster flanker Tommy O’Donnell Newsdesk Newsdesk

Ireland internationals Dave Foley and Tommy O’Donnell are among the Munster replacements for the Guinness PRO12 clash with Treviso.

Head coach Anthony Foley makes six changes from the side that lost out narrowly to Glasgow Warriors for the game at the Stadio Monigo (KO 2pm Irish).

The first of three changes in the pack comes in the front row with hooker Mike Sherry returning to pack down between Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan.

Mark Chisholm is another returnee to the starting line-up with the Australian partnering captain Billy Holland in the second row and, following his successful rehabilitation of a rib injury, Dave O'Callaghan comes in to join Jack O'Donoghue and Robin Copeland in the back-row.

Three changes are also seen across the backline. Duncan Williams resumes his starting partnership with Ian Keatley in the half-backs, as does Francis Saili alongside Rory Scannell in the midfield. The New Zealander has completed his return to play protocols for a concussion sustained against Ospreys in Round 14.

Winger Gerhard van den Heever is the final change to the starting XV with Darren Sweetnam and Andrew Conway remaining on the opposite wing and full-back respectively.

Should he make an appearance from the bench, development prop Peter McCabe will make his first competitive appearance for the province.

James Cronin reported a tight hamstring this week and was unavailable for selection.

Munster: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, John Ryan; Mark Chisholm, Billy Holland Capt., Jack O'Donoghue, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Peter McCabe, Mario Sagario, Dave Foley, Tommy O'Donnell, Cathal Sheridan, Cian Bohane, David Johnston.


Leinster coach Leo Cullen has named the Leinster team to face Zebre in the Guinness PRO12 on Sunday in the Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi (KO 3.00pm Irish Time).

Cullen has made eight changes in total from the team that beat Cardiff away from home last time out with five of those changes in the pack.

Peter Dooley comes in at loose head prop to start his third game of the season, with James Tracy coming in at hooker and Tadhg Furlong continuing at tight head.

Ross Molony comes back into the second row to partner Clontarf's Mick Kearney who made his debut in the BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park.

There are two further changes in the back row with Dominic Ryan starting at blind side flanker to win his 99th cap in blue, while Dan Leavy starts at openside for his eighth game of the season. Last weekend's Man of the Match, Jack Conan, will once again pack down at number eight.

Zane Kirchner starts at full back once again with Adam Byrne on the left wing. Byrne scored his first Leinster try against Zebre two weeks ago in the RDS. Isa Nacewa, who scored Leinster's only try last weekend in the 13-14 away win over Cardiff, will captain the team from the right wing.

St Michael's past pupils Luke McGrath and Cathal Marsh come in to the half backs with Ben Te'o and Garry Ringrose once again selected in the centre.

LEINSTER (Leinster caps in brackets):

15. Zane Kirchner (58)

14. Adam Byrne (3)

13. Garry Ringrose (13)

12. Ben Te'o (30)

11. Isa Nacewa (141) CAPTAIN

10. Cathal Marsh (10)

9. Luke McGrath (40)

1. Peter Dooley (14)

2. James Tracy (14)

3. Tadhg Furlong (41)

4. Ross Molony (14)

5. Mick Kearney (1)

6. Dominic Ryan (98)

7. Dan Leavy (10)

8. Jack Conan (29)

Online Editors

The Left Wing: John Cooney on Ulster's European run and bouncing back from World Cup disappointment

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport