Friday 22 November 2019

Tom Denton replaces Mike McCarthy in Leinster team, Bryan Byrne makes first start of the season

Tom Denton
Tom Denton Newsdesk Newsdesk

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named his starting XV for the visit of Scarlets tomorrow evening in the Guinness PRO12 (Kick Off: 7.35pm - live on TG4).

There are five changes in total to the XV that started the Round 3 game against the Dragons, which Leinster won 37-13, with two changes in the backs and three in the forwards.

There is no change to the back three with Isa Nacewa captaining the side from full back and Garry Ringrose and Fergus McFadden occupying either wing. All three players were on the score board last time out with McFadden in particular impressing off the tee with six kicks from six attempts.

It's a Clontarf midfield combination of Noel Reid and Colm O'Shea. O'Shea comes in for Ben Te'o who doesn't travel having picked up a minor knock at training on Wednesday.

In the half backs Isaac Boss wins his 125th cap for Leinster while outside him Ross Byrne starts his first game for Leinster having come off the bench on two occasions already this season. The UCD number 10 was the Irish Under 20s starting outhalf during last season's Six Nations campaign.

Bryan Byrne makes his first start of the season at hooker having come off the bench against Edinburgh and Cardiff, with Irish internationals Michael Bent and Marty Moore either side.

With Mike McCarthy called up to the Irish Rugby World Cup squad, Tom Denton comes back into the second row to partner Ross Molony.

The final change sees Dan Leavy start for the second time this season in place of Rhys Ruddock who has also been called up to the Irish squad. Dominic Ryan starts at blindside flanker with Josh van der Flier completing the pack at openside.

Among the replacements Jamie Hagan will win his 50th cap for Leinster should he make an appearance off the bench, while Wexford man Tony Ryan is in line to make his debut having impressed for the Leinster 'A' team against Munster 'A' last week. Another Clontarf man Mick McGrath is also in line for his first game of the season if called upon.

Leinster team v Scarlets: Isa Nacewa; Fergus McFadden, Colm O'Shea, Noel Reid, Garry Ringrose; Ross Byrne, Isaac Boss; Michael Bent, Bryan Byrne, Marty Moore; Ross Molony, Tom Denton; Dominic Ryan , Josh van der Flier, Dan Leavy

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Champions Cup returns, Jacob Stockdale's development, and Simon Zebo goes back to Munster

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport