Wednesday 21 August 2019

Sexton on bench for Leinster while Munster's Carbery and Earls get all clear for Pro14 crunch

onathan Sexton of Leinster
onathan Sexton of Leinster

John Morley

Johnny Sexton is on the bench for Leinster for their Pro 14 semi-final clash against Munster tomorrow in the RDS.

Leinster will be without a big contingent of the Champions Cup starting fifteen with Sexton on the bench and Rob Kearney departing the match day twenty-three.

Sexton is recovering from a stinger injury following the Saracens Champions Cup final defeat and Josh van der Flier and Rhys Ruddock come into the team, with Ruddock getting the captain's armband.

Van der Flier has recovered from his early season groin injury while Ross Byrne will take the number ten spot from Sexton.

In a positional switch Jordan Larmour moves to fullback for Rob Kearney with Dave Kearney also coming into the fold for the Blues.

Munster will look to topple Leinster's push to reach a second tournament final with captain Peter O'Mahony leading the way while Joey Carbery and Keith Earls return to the starting 15.

Carbery has only played 32 minutes rugby since the Scotland game in the Six Nations and the former Leinster kicker will be a big asset for the southern men tomorrow.

A notable exclusion from the Munster starting fifteen is the in-form JJ Hanrahan who gets the number twenty-two shirt while Tyler Bleyendaal is not named on the match day panel.

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

Leinster: 15 Jordan Larmour, 14 Dave Kearney, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 James Lowe, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Josh Van der Flier, 6 Rhys Ruddock (c), 5 James Ryan, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Seán Cronin, 1 Cian Healy

Replacements: 16 Bryan Byrne, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Scott Fardy, 20 Max Deegan, 21 Nick McCarthy, 22 Johnny Sexton, 23 Rory O’Loughlin

Munster: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Joey Carbery, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Peter O’Mahony (c), 5 Tadhg Beirne, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne

Replacements: 16 Kevin O’Byrne, 17 Liam O’Connor, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Billy Holland, 20 Jack O’Donoghue, 21 Alby Mathewson, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 23 Dan Goggin

Online Editors

The Left Wing: The 'hell' of World Cup training camp, Ireland's half-back dilemma and All Blacks uncertainty

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport