Sport PRO14

Saturday 21 September 2019

Robbie Henshaw returns as Leinster and Munster name their teams for Pro14 Derby

Robbie Henshaw returns for Leinster
Robbie Henshaw returns for Leinster

Leinster and Munster have named their starting teams for this weekend's sold-out Pro14 clash in the Aviva Stadium.

Munster's Rassie Erasmus has made four personnel changes to his backline. There is new a centre partnership with Tyler Bleyendaal named at inside centre alongside Chris Farrell.

Returning international Keith Earls makes his first appearance of the season starting on the wing and as JJ Hanrahan is promoted to make his first start of the season at fullback, Andrew Conway swops the number 15 jersey for the right wing.

Meanwhile, Robbie Henshaw makes his first start of the season or Leinster.

Listen and subscribe to The Left Wing on iTunes and Soundcloud.

Joey Carbery continues at full back but Adam Byrne comes in on the right wing, with fellow UCD man Barry Daly coming in on the left for his first ever game in the Aviva Stadium. 

Luke McGrath and captain Johnny Sexton are again the outhalf pairing for this game and having scored four points last weekend Sexton is now only five points away from becoming the all-time Leinster points scorer.

In the pack Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong again start at loosehead and tighthead prop, with James Tracy coming in at hooker.

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

Behind the Irish international front row, Devin Toner and Scott Fardy continue their partnership in the second row.

In the back row there are two changes from last week’s team with Rhys Ruddock retained at blindside flanker but Josh van der Flier comes in at openside, with Jack Conan selected at No. 8.

Leinster: Joey Carbery, Adam Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin, Robbie Henshaw, Barry Daly, Johnny Sexton CAPTAIN, Luke McGrath, Jack McGrath, James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Scott Fardy, Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Replacements: Seán Cronin, Cian Healy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Jordi Murphy, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne, Fergus McFadden

Munster:  JJ Hanrahan; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Tyler Bleyendaal, Keith Earls; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Robin Copeland, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Mark Flanagan, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Rory Scannell, Alex Wootton.

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU)


Subscribe to The Left Wing,'s Rugby podcast, with Luke Fitzgerald and Will Slattery for the best discussion and analysis each week. From in depth interviews with some of Irish rugby's biggest stars to unmatched insights into the provinces and the national team, The Left Wing has all your rugby needs covered.

Listen and subscribe to The Left Wing on iTunes and Soundcloud.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Ireland's fullback dilemma, World Cup bonding and the squad standby list

Also in Sport