Sunday 20 October 2019

PRO14 team news: Tommy O'Donnell captains Munster while Connacht trio earn first starts

Munster's Tommy O'Donnell
Munster's Tommy O'Donnell

Des Berry

Tommy O'Donnell will take on the captaincy as Johann van Graan makes four changes for Munster's clash with Southern Kings at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium tomorrow (KO 3.0 Irish time, Eirsport 1).

Liam O'Connor, Darren O'Shea, Alby Mathewson and Dan Goggin all come into the starting line-up.

The vital back row unit will remain untouched, Jack O'Donoghue, O'Donnell and Arno Botha looking to dominate as they did against Dragons.

Munster's short-term signing Jed Holloway should make his PRO14 debut off the bench.

Connacht coach Andy Friend gives Darragh Leader, Peter Robb and Paul Boyle their first starts of the young season against Benetton at The Sportsground tomorrow (KO 7.35, TG4).

Sean Masterson is scheduled for his Connacht debut from the bench, perhaps joining his brother Eoghan in the back row.

Once again, Friend has resisted the temptation to start Kieran Marmion, trusting Caolin Blade to partner Conor Fitzgerald at half-back.

Bill Johnston will make his debut for Ulster against Cheetahs at Toyota Stadium tomorrow (KO 5.15pm Irish time, Eirsport 1).

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

The skilled 22-year-old out-half is the only change from the opening day defeat of Dragons.

Coach Dan McFarland will want stability against their hosts, who hosed Glasgow 48-14 at the same venue last week.

MUNSTER (v Southern Kings): Mike Haley; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Alby Mathewson; Liam O'Connor, Kevin O'Byrne, Stephen Archer; Darren O'Shea, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O'Donoghue, Tommy O'Donnell (C), Arno Botha.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, James Cronin, Jeremy Loughman, Jed Holloway, Billy Holland, Neil Cronin, Tyler Bleyendaal, Chris Cloete.

CONNACHT (v Benetton): Tiernan O’Halloran, Darragh Leader, Kyle Godwin, Peter Robb, Matt Healy; Conor Fitzgerald, Caolin Blade; Paddy McAllister, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, Gavin Thornbury, Quinn Roux, Eoghan Masterson, Jarrad Butler (capt), Paul Boyle.

Replacements: Shane Delahunt, Denis Buckley, Dominic Robertson-McCoy, Ultan Dillane, Sean Masterson; Kieran Marmion, Tom Farrell, Stephen Fitzgerald

ULSTER (v Cheetahs): Matt Faddes; Craig Gilroy, Luke Marshall, James Hume, Rob Lyttle; Bill Johnston, John Cooney; Jack McGrath, Rob Herring (capt), Tom O’Toole, Kieran Treadwell, Sam Carter, Matthew Rea, Sean Reidy, Greg Jones.

Replacements: John Andrew, Eric O’Sullivan, Ross Kane, Alan O’Connor, Clive Ross, David Shanahan, Michael Lowry, Louis Ludik.

Online Editors

The Left Wing - RWC Daily: End of an era as Ireland say sayonara to World Cup

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport