Tuesday 23 July 2019

O'Donnell, Jones and Keatley return as Anthony Foley makes eight changes for Munster

Munster's Felix Jones
Munster's Felix Jones
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Munster head hoach Anthony Foley has made eight changes to his Munster team for Saturday's Guinness PRO12 encounter away to Scarlets.

Returning internationals Tommy O'Donnell, Felix Jones and Ian Keatley, who was a late withdrawal last week due to illness, all come back into  a strong looking line-up for the visit to Wales.

Andrew Conway has also overcome the flu in resuming his place on the wing and the squad has been further boosted by the return of CJ Stander from injury as he takes his place in the starting XV.

There is a new front row named for the round 15 fixture with Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O'Byrne and Stephen Archer all starting.   While the other changes to the pack see Tommy O'Donnell and CJ Stander join Dave O'Callaghan in the back-row.

Ian Keatley resumes his partnership with Duncan Williams in the half-backs, while Captain Denis Hurley and Keith Earls remain in situ with Andrew Conway and Felix Jones joining Luke O'Dea in the back three.

Munster: Felix Jones; Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Denis Hurley – capt., Luke O'Dea; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O'Byrne, Stephen Archer; Donncha O'Callaghan, Billy Holland; Dave O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Eusebio Guinazu, John Ryan, BJ Botha, Jack O'Donoghue, Paddy Butler, Neil Cronin, JJ Hanrahan, Ivan Dineen.

Online Editors

The Throw-In: D-Day looms in Castlebar, Jim Gavin’s plan for Diarmuid Connolly and the future of the Super 8s

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport