| 18.3°C Dublin

Munster survive late onslaught

Munster got their Pro12 season off to a winning start as a hat-trick from Tim Visser was not enough to prevent a morale-boosting victory first time out for Rob Penney.

Visser hit the opening score on 14 minutes after Greig Tonks set up the simplest of tasks to canter home.

Just after the half-hour mark Ian Keatley got Munster's first points after great work from James Downey, Damien Varley and Wian du Preez forced Stuart McNally into the concession of a penalty under the posts.

But Edinburgh struck again as Visser cruised past Keatley's despairing tackle and pushed his side into a 10-3 lead.

In first-half added time the visitors finally got the small bit of luck that saw them go in level at the break as Doug Howlett picked out Keatley with a sweet chip over the top.

The bounce was more than kind to the former Connacht fly-half as he touched down behind the posts, and Keatley converted his own try.

The same player picked up where he had left off immediately after the restart when he was handed a straightforward kick in front of the posts.

Michael Bradley's side soon drew level in the 51st minute as Laidlaw landed his first kick of the night from under the posts after Munster infringed at the breakdown.

Five minutes later Visser almost ran around the Munster cover to complete his hat-trick, but Denis Hurley was on hand to halt the speedster's progress.

And just on the hour mark Munster took the lead again when Downey carried well into contact before slipping Luke O'Dea in under the posts after a well-worked move off the top of the lineout.

Scorers -- Edinburgh Rugby: T Visser 3 tries; G Laidlaw pen. Munster: I Keatley, L O'Dea tries; I Keatley 2 cons, 3 pens.

Edinburgh Rugby: G Tonks; L Jones, N De Luca, B Atiga, T Visser; G Laidlaw (capt), R Rees (C Leck, 64); J Yapp (A Jacobsen, 52), Ross Ford (A Titterall, 64), W Nel (G Cross, 52); G Gilchrist (P Parker, 69), S Cox; D Denton, R Rennie, S McInally (D Basilaia, 64).

Munster: D Hurley; D Howlett (capt), C Laulala, J Downey, L O'Dea; I Keatley, D Williams (P Stringer, 73); W du Preez (D Kilcoyne, 58), D Varley (T Sherry, 52), BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, B Holland; P Butler, S Dougall (B O'Mahony, 72), J Coughlan.

Referee: L Hodges (WRU)

Sunday Indo Sport