Friday 22 November 2019

Magners League Previews

Connacht v Treviso

(Sportsground, 7.0)

flying winger Fionn Carr is hoping to enter the record books in the coming weeks as Connacht embark on a trio of Italian jobs.

The 25-year-old, who is set to leave the Sportsground this summer, will become Connacht's all-time top try scorer when he gets his next touchdown.

Coach Eric Elwood has made just one change for tonight's game against Treviso, with hooker Sean Cronin returning from representing Ireland and taking over from Adrian Flavin. The Italians are short numbers due to international duty, but caused Leinster problems at the RDS last week.

Verdict: Connacht

Connacht -- G Duffy; B Tuohy, N Ta'auso, T Nathan, F Carr; I Keatley, F Murphy; B Wilkinson, S Cronin, J Hagan; M Swift, M McCarthy; A Browne, J O'Connor (capt), R Ofisa. Reps: A Flavin, R Loughney, R Ah You, B Upton, D Nolan, C Willis, M Nikora, K Matthews.

Treviso -- B Williams; M Sepe, E Galon, A Pratichetti, J Maddock; W De Waal, L Nitoglia; IF Rouyet, F Sbaraglini, L Cittadini; A Pavanello (capt), C Van Zyl; B Vermaak, M Vosawai, M Filipucci. Reps: E Ceccato, M Rizzo, P Di Santo, E Pavanello, G Padro, P Derbyshire, G Garcia, A Marcato.

Ulster v Aironi

(Ravenhill, 7.05. *Live, BBC2)

South African star Ruan Pienaar starts at out-half for the first time for Ulster this evening as they take on winless Italians Aironi.

The versatile Springbok has worn the No 9 jersey since arriving from Natal, but with Ian Humphreys rested, coach Brian McLaughlin gives Pienaar a start at 10 and selects Paul Marshall at scrum-half. Paddy Wallace starts at centre.

McLaughlin, in what looks like a hint from the Ireland management, has also named Tom Court at tight-head for the first time this season, with Paddy McAllister at loose and Nigel Brady returning at hooker in a new-look front-row.

Verdict: Ulster

Ulster -- A D'Arcy; A Trimble, N Spence, P Wallace, C Gilroy; R Pienaar, P Marshall; P McAllister, N Brady, T Court, T Barker, J Muller (capt), C Henry, W Faloon. Reps: A Kyriacou, D Fitzpatrick, J Cronin, N McComb, R Diack, L Marshall, S Danielli, T Seymour.

Aironi -- J Marshall; K Robertson, G Pavan, M Pratichetti, D Demas; R Bocchino, P Travagli; A De Marchi, R Santamaria, U Gambo; J Furno, M Bortolami (capt); J Sole, G Krause, N Williams. Reps: T D'Aplice, L Redolfini, A De Marchi, G Biagi, N Cattina, T Tebaldi, G Pizarro, G Rubini.

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Champions Cup returns, Jacob Stockdale's development, and Simon Zebo goes back to Munster

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport