Thursday 21 November 2019

Leinster big guns return for Pro14 clash against Connacht as Jack Carty starts for men from the west

Robbie Henshaw
Robbie Henshaw
Robbie Henshaw at Leinster squad training in UCD
Robbie Henshaw in action for Ireland against the All Blacks
CARRIES/METRES GAINED: Cian Healy - v ALL BLACKS: 7 carries/14m, NOV ’18 AVERAGE SINCE THEN: 4.8 carries/4.3m. Photo: Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Des Berry

Ireland internationals Robbie Henshaw, Cian Healy, Andrew Porter and Luke McGrath will start against Connacht tomorrow evening in The Sportsground in Round 6 of the Guinness PRO14 (Kick Off: 7.35pm – live on TG4/eir Sport).

In addition, Rob Kearney and Rhys Ruddock have been listed among the replacements for their first appearance in blue this season.

Hugo Keenan has recovered from an ankle injury to take his place at full-back and loose-head prop Ed Byrne is in line for his first involvement this season.

Meanwhile, Jack Carty will start at out-half and Bundee Aki on the bench for Connacht.

It will be Carty's first action since the World Cup win over Russia, coming on for the impressive Conor Fitzgerald, who is not in the squad.
Coach Andy Friend has resisted the urge to include Aki based on the sound form of Peter Robb and Tom Farrell.
Once again, Kieran Marmion is kept to the bench with Caolin blade holding the fort at scrum-half.
In the second row, Sligo man Cillian Gallagher comes in for his first start of the season alongside Joe Maksymiw.

LEINSTER (v Connacht):

15. Hugo Keenan

14. Adam Byrne

13. Robbie Henshaw

12. Joe Tomane

11. James Lowe

10. Ross Byrne

9. Luke McGrath

1. Cian Healy

2. Rónan Kelleher

3. Andrew Porter

4. Devin Toner

5. Scott Fardy CAPTAIN

6. Josh Murphy

7. Will Connors

8. Max Deegan.


16. James Tracy

17. Ed Byrne

18. Michael Bent

19. Ross Molony

20. Rhys Ruddock

21. Jamison Gibson-Park

22. Ciarán Frawley

23. Rob Kearney.

CONNACHT (v Leinster): Darragh Leader, Niyi Adeolokun, Tom Farrell, Peter Robb, Stephen Fitzgerald, Jack Carty, Caolin Blade; Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, Cillian Gallagher, Joe Maksymiw, Eoghan Masterson, Jarrad Butler (capt), Paul Boyle.
Replacements: Dave Heffernan, Matthew Burke, Dominic Robertson-McCoy, Sean O’Brien, Colby Fainga’a; Kieran Marmion, Bundee Aki, Kyle Godwin.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Champions Cup returns, Jacob Stockdale's development, and Simon Zebo goes back to Munster

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport