Friday 24 January 2020

Jack McGrath makes his return for Ulster as Caolin Blade handed Connacht captaincy for Belfast trip

Ulster prop Jack McGrath makes his return from injury to face Connacht. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile
Ulster prop Jack McGrath makes his return from injury to face Connacht. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

Ireland prop Jack McGrath will make his return from injury in Ulster's clash with Connacht at Kingspan Stadium on Friday night.

McGrath is named in an all-international front row alongside captain Rob Herring at hooker and Marty Moore at tighthead prop, while Springbok Marcell Coetzee packs down at number eight.

In the backline, Will Addison returns from suspension to take his place at fullback, with half-backs Billy Burns and John Cooney restored to the starting line-up by head coach Dan McFarland.

For Connacht, Caolin Blade captains the side at scrum-half while Conor Fitzgerald gets the nod at ten.

Prop Paddy McAllister is back from injury to take on his former province, while Peter Robb has also returns to partner Tom Daly in the centre.

Second row Quinn Roux has been ruled out with a hand injury so Ultan Dillane is partnered by Joe Maksymiw at lock.

The game kicks off on Friday night at Kingspan Stadium at 19.35.


15. Will Addison

14. Robert Baloucoune

13. Luke Marshall

12. Stuart McCloskey

11. Louis Ludik

10. Billy Burns

9. John Cooney

1. Jack McGrath

2. Rob Herring (C)

3. Marty Moore

4. Alan O'Connor

5. Kieran Treadwell

6. Matthew Rea

7. Sean Reidy

8. Marcell Coetzee



16. Adam McBurney

17. Kyle McCall

18. Tom OToole

19. David O'Connor

20. Nick Timoney

21. David Shanahan

22. Bill Johnston

23. Craig Gilroy



15. Tiernan O'Halloran

14. John Porch

13. Tom Daly

12. Peter Robb

11. Matt Healy

10. Conor Fitzgerald

9. Caolin Blade (C)

1. Paddy McAllister

2. Dave Heffernan

3. Finlay Bealham

4. Ultan Dillane

5. Joe Maksymiw

6. Eoin McKeon

7. Paul Boyle

8. Robin Copeland



16. Shane Delahunt

17. Denis Buckley

18. Dominic Robertson-McCoy

19. Niall Murray

20. Eoghan Masterson

21. Stephen Kerins

22. Kyle Godwin

23. Stephen Fitzgerald

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Schools rugby special - 'The St Michael’s dream team are the side to beat'

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport