Saturday 20 July 2019

Dave Kearney returns as Leinster make seven changes for Connacht clash

Dave Kearney returns to the Leinster team following his injury
Dave Kearney returns to the Leinster team following his injury Newsdesk Newsdesk

Leinster head coach Matt O'Connor has made seven changes to his starting team for the visit of Connacht in tomorrow night's inter-pro at the RDS.

Dave Kearney returns to the first team following his injury lay-off while O'Connor has stuck with the half-back partnership that began against Harlequins last time out in the Champions Cup with Isaac Boss and Jimmy Gopperth selected at nine and ten.

Zane Kirchner comes in on the right wing while Noel Reid is selected in midfield to partner Luke Fitzgerald.

There are five changes in the pack with a completely new front row of Michael Bent, Aaron Dundon and Tadhg Furlong selected.

It is as you were in the second row with Devin Toner and Kane Douglas in the engine room, while there are two changes in the back row. Shane Jennings returns from injury to win his 201st Leinster cap, while Kevin McLaughlin starts at blindside flanker. Jamie Heaslip captains the side from eight.

On the bench Maks Van Dyke is in line to make his first appearance for Leinster having signed last week on a short term contract.

Leinster team v Connacht: Rob Kearney, Zane Kirchne, Luke Fitzgerald, Noel Reid, Dave Kearney, Jimmy Gopperth, Isaac Boss, Michael Bent, Aaron Dundon, Tahdg Furlong, Devin Toner, Kane Douglas, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip (c)

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport