Sunday 18 August 2019

Conor Murray gets the all clear as Munster name team for Pro14 crunch against Benetton

Conor Murray is back for Munster
Conor Murray is back for Munster

Harry Clarke

Conor Murray has recovered from a neck injury to take his place in the Munster starting team for Saturday's Pro14 quarter-final play-off against Benetton at Thomond Park.

Keith Earls also returns to Johann van Graan's side to feature for the first time since the provinces win over Edinburgh last month while Rory Scannell is also named. 

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Earls on either flank.

Scannell and Chris Farrell pair up in the centres with Murray and Tyler Bleyendaal in the half-backs.

Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row.

Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne start in the engine room with O’Mahony, Chris Cloete and CJ Stander completing the side in the back row.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Arno Botha, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin.

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

Online Editors

The Throw-In All-Ireland Hurling Final preview: Can Tipp's firepower edge clash with the Cats?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport