Monday 23 October 2017

Ireland women's team ring in changes for Six Nations closer against Scotland

Sene Naoupu lines out in the centre for Ireland against England Picture credit: Paul Mohan / Sportsfile
Sene Naoupu lines out in the centre for Ireland against England Picture credit: Paul Mohan / Sportsfile

Ireland Women’s head coach Tom Tierney has made significant personnel changes to the side that beat Italy last week for Saturday’s visit of Scotland. Kick off is at 1 pm in Donnybrook.

Experienced captain Niamh Briggs reverts from centre to her usual position of full back and will have Liz Burke, who won her first Ireland cap last weekend, and Alison Miller on the wings. Claire McLaughlin, who was another new cap last week will partner Sene Naoupu at centre.
Out-half Nora Stapleton and scrum-half Larissa Muldoon form an experienced half-back partnership, with 71 caps between them.
Up front, Ruth O'Reilly returns to the starting line-up and joins Zoe Grattage and Ailis Egan in the front row. Ciara Cooney moves from the back row to partner Elaine Anthony at second row.

Ciara Griffin will move from openside to blindside flanker to allow Claire Molloy take up the number 7 jersey and Paula Fitzpatrick will start at number 8.
In the replacements, Fiona Hayes and Orla Fitzsimons will be hoping to make their first Six Nations appearances of the season, while Aine Donnelly returns to the side having missed the Italy game.

Ireland side to face Scotland
15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians / Munster) Captain
14. Liz Burke (UL Bohemians / Munster)
13. Claire McLaughlin (Queens University / Ulster
12. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians / Connacht)
11. Alison Miller (Portlaoise / Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
1. Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians / Connacht)
2. Zoe Grattage (Tralee / Munster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
4. Elaine Anthony (Highfield / Munster)
5. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union / Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (Tralee / Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)
16. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union / Leinster)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians / Munster)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians / Munster)
19. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's / Leinster)
20. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
22. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara / Leinster)
23. Kim Flood (Railway Union / Leinster)

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport