Sport Other Rugby

Tuesday 20 March 2018

Coach Tom Tierney rings in the changes for Ireland Women's Six Nations clash with England

Sene Naoupu lines out in the centre for Ireland against England Picture credit: Paul Mohan / Sportsfile
Sene Naoupu lines out in the centre for Ireland against England Picture credit: Paul Mohan / Sportsfile

Ireland Women's head coach Tom Tierney has evidently followed the lead of men's counterpart Joe Schmidt by selecting a new look side to face England at Twickenham.

Tierney has decided to reshuffle his deck after Ireland's loss to France in the previous round ahead of their pivotal tie at the home of Egnlish rugby, which kicks off at 7 15, after the men's fixture.

In the pack, Ciara Griffin, who won her second cap against the French is handed her first Six Nations start at flanker. This change sees Paula Fitzpatrick shift to Number 8 and Heather O'Brien move to the replacements.
In the backs, there is a straight swap at out-half where the experienced Nora Stapleton comes in for Nikki Caughey who moves to the substitutes.
Prop Fiona Hayes, who was last involved in Ireland's final game of the 2015 Six Nations comes onto the replacements bench.
Tierney is looking forward to the challenge that awaits his team in Twickenham;"While the result in France didn't go our way, I thought there were a lot of positives to take from that game and we will be looking to carry them this fixture. We made too many unforced errors in Perpignan, so if we can rectify that I think we have got a very good chance on Saturday.
Twickenham is a special place to play, so it will be a great experience for the girls, but it is important that we go there looking to perform and hopefully come away with a result” 
The game will be streamed live on YouTube via England Rugby at
Ireland Women's side to face Englland
15. Niamh Briggs (UL. Bohemians / Munster) Captain
14. Elise O'Byrne-White (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
13. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara / Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians / Connacht)
11. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
1. Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians / Connacht)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union / Leinster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (Tralee / Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)
16. Zoe Grattage (Tralee / Munster)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians / Munster)18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians / Munster)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union / Leinster)
20. Heather O'Brien (Toulouse)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
22. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union / Ulster)
23. Jackie Shiels (Richmond)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport