Sunday 25 February 2018

Back man Turner moves into overdrive for Blackrock

Blackrock College 23 Clongowes Wood15

Liam Turner in action during Blackrock College's victory over Clongowes Wood in the 1st round of the Leinster Junior Cup
Liam Turner in action during Blackrock College's victory over Clongowes Wood in the 1st round of the Leinster Junior Cup
Clongowes Wood's Matthew Martin is tackled by Liam McMahon of Blackrock College
Clongowes Wood's Connell Kennelly is tackled by James Burke of Blackrock College
Blackrock College's David Colgan is tackled by John Durkan of Clongowes Wood
Clongowes Wood's Matthew Martin, College is tackled by Michael McGagh of Blackrock College Newsdesk Newsdesk

The curse of the open draw system is that two fine sides like these meet in the first round when it could so easily make for a fitting Leinster Junior Cup final.

Clongowes moved to the front from a penalty by Ben O’Shea after the centre had made two significant bursts from deep.

From then on, ‘Rock were able to find the space by putting the ball through the hands, their right wing Adam Thompson blazing around the outside to find captain Liam Turner – remember the name – on his inside for a try converted by out-half Joey Caputo.

The son of Leinster scrum coach Marco was able to take the chances that came his way to add penalties in the 17th, 24th and 27th minutes. 

The real killer blow came from flanker Michael McGagh’s reach for the whitewash for Caputo’s conversion to make it 23-3 at the break.

It was credit to the Purple and Whites that the kept the winners away from the scoreboard and tested their fringe defence with heavy driving up front which coughed up two well-devised pick-and-drive tries by lock Daniel Beggs and replacement David O’Connor.

Scorers – Blackrock: L Turner, M McGagh try each; J Caputo 3 pens, 2 cons. Clongowes: D Beggs, D O’Connor try each; B O’Shea pen, con.

Blackrock – N Brady (T Maher 56); A Thompson, L Turner (capt), R Hally-Doody (G Jones 61), D Colgan; J Caputo (J Tarrrant 42), L O’Reilly (H Donnelly 39); G Coyne, S Molony, T Clarkson (R Gallagher 49), T Godson-Treacy (M Grogan 51), J Stapleton, J Burke, M McGagh, L McMahon.

Clongowes Wood – C Kennelly; A Mullan (M Colivet 49), J Durkan, B O’Shea, A Langan (J Onyejekwe 39); J Reilly (S Donovan 53), C Daly (C Gallen 53); D Slattery, B Sheehan (D O’Connor 56), J Timmins, D Beggs, T Farrington, L  El Sabai (capt), S Ojejinmi, M Martin.

Ref – D Philips (Leinster Branch)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport