Monday 23 October 2017

O'Leary to step up comeback in Munster 'A' clash

Ruaidhri O'Connor

Ruaidhri O'Connor

TOMAS O'Leary will don the red of Munster for the first time since being dropped from the Ireland World Cup squad tomorrow as the 'A' side take on Connacht at the Sportsground.

The scrum-half lined out for Dolphin in the All-Ireland League last Friday night and he will continue his return from a lower-back injury with a place in the squad for the inter-provincial clash.

World Cup squad member Damien Varley will also make his return to the Munster colours, while new signing Will Chambers has been named in a strong squad.

The Australian rugby league convert has joined Munster on a short-term deal from Queensland Reds. A 23-year-old centre/wing, Chambers could be at Thomond Park for the long term if he impresses in his spell that is due to expire in January.

Meanwhile, Leinster have named a strong team to face Ulster in Friday's 'A' clash at Donnybrook.

Highly rated youngster Andrew Conway returns at full-back, while Jamie Hagan, Steven Sykes and captain Dominic Ryan will add experience to the pack.

Ulster's Kiwi full-back Jared Payne has undergone surgery on the ruptured Achilles tendon he suffered against Treviso two weeks ago. The duration of his absence will be determined when the injury is reviewed in two weeks' time.

Gary Longwell has named Paddy Jackson at out-half in an inexperienced Ulster line-up.

MUNSTER 'A' (squad) -- M Horan, BJ Botha, J Ryan, D Kilcoyne, D Varley, D Fogarty, I Nagle, P Donnellan, D Foley, D O'Callaghan, B O'Hara, T O'Donnell, J Coughlan, T O Leary, D Williams, S Deasy, D Cusack, S Zebo, JJ Hanrahan, T Gleeson, W Chambers, L O'Dea, S Scanlon.

LEINSTER 'A' -- A Conway; D Hudson, B Macken, C O'Shea, A Boyle; N Reid, J Cooney; J McGrath, A Dundon, J Hagan; S Sykes, M Flanagan; C Ruddock, D Ryan (capt), L Auva'a. Reps: J Harris-Wright, J O'Connell, M Moore, N Keogh, J Murphy, C Willis, C Marsh, D Riordan.

ULSTER 'A' -- R Andrew; C Gaston, M Allen, C Farrell, C Cochrane; P Jackson, I Porter; C Black, J Burns, A Macklin; I Henderson, N McComb; C Joyce, D McGuigan, A Birch. Reps: N Annett, K McCall, R Jablonski, J Simpson, S O'Connell, B McIlroy, J McKinney, P Nelson.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport