Wednesday 13 December 2017

O'Driscoll named Player of Decade

THE plaudits keep rolling for Ireland and Leinster centre Brian O'Driscoll after he was named Rugby World magazine's Player of the Decade.

O'Driscoll added the personal accolade to the Heineken Cup and Grand Slam won last season after being nominated for World Player of the Year award on three separate occasions since bursting on to the international scene with a hat-trick of tries against France in Paris in 2000.

New Zealand talisman Richie McCaw, controversially named as the IRB's 2009 Player of the Year, has to settle for a place in the back row.

Rugby World team of the decade -- M Muliaina (New Zealand); J Robinson (England), B O'Driscoll (Ireland), M Giteau (Australia), S Williams (Wales); D Carter (New Zealand), A Pichot (Argentina); S Parisse (Italy), R McCaw (New Zealand), R Hill (England); M Johnson (England, captain), V Matfield (South Africa); C Hayman (New Zealand), J Smit (South Africa), G Jenkins (Wales). Reps: R Roncero (Argentina), M Ledesma (Argentina), S Marconnet (France), JM Fernandez Lobbe (Argentina), F Du Preez (South Africa), J Wilkinson (England), Y Jauzion (France), JM Hernandez (Argentina).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport