Sport Rugby

Tuesday 19 November 2019

O’Connor reshuffles the pack after front row injuries for Munster battle

Matt O'Connor was relieved to see his side come away from the eventful game with a win
Matt O'Connor was relieved to see his side come away from the eventful game with a win

Matt O’Connor has had to contend with injuries to his front row, but has named a side containing fifteen full internationals for the RaboDirect PRO12 game with Munster at the Aviva Stadium.

Cian Healy, Jack McGrath, Marty Moore and Tadhg Furlong have been ruled out, with a front row containing Michael Bent, Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross selected for action.

Devin Toner and Mike McCarthy make up the second row combination, while Jamie Heaslip returns to captain the side from number eight, with Kevin McLaughlin and Shane Jennings completing the Leinster pack.

The back division has no shortage of experience with last weeks' centurion Ian Madigan again selected at 10 and Eoin Reddan selected beside him.

Luke Fitzgerald and Fergus McFadden start on the wings with Gordon D'Arcy and Brian O'Driscoll back to continue their record breaking centre partnership.

Rob Kearney returns to fill the full back slot, with Zane Kirchner on the bench.

Leinster team to play Munster:  Rob Kearney; Fergus McFadden, Brian O'Driscoll, Gordon D'Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald; Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan; Michael Bent, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross; Devin Toner, Mike McCarthy; Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip (captain)


Replacements:  Sean Cronin, Jack O'Connell, Ed Byrne, Leo Cullen, Jordi Murphy, Isaac Boss, Jimmy Gopperth, Zane Kirchner

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Champions Cup returns, Jacob Stockdale's development, and Simon Zebo goes back to Munster

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport