Friday 20 April 2018

O'Connell among 10 changes to Munster team for Leinster clash

Paul O'Connell returns to the Munster team to face Leinster.
Paul O'Connell returns to the Munster team to face Leinster.

Munster head coach Rob Penney has made 10 changes to the side that beat Treviso last week for tomorrow night's RaboDirect PRO12 clash against Leinster at the Aviva Stadium.

Paul O'Connell, Peter O'Mahony, Conor Murray and Tommy O'Donnell all return to the side after helping Ireland to the Six Nations Championship.

Ian Keatley, man-of-the-match when Munster beat Leinster 19-15 at Thomond Park in October, returns to the side to partner Murray at half-back.

Denis Hurley comes in to partner Casey Laulala in the centres, with Keith Earls and Simon Zebo named on the wings.

O’Connell is a welcome addition to the team after missing  the Treviso clash with a slight shoulder niggle, with props Dave Kilcoyne and BJ Botha are both drafted into the side to join hooker Damien Varley in the front-row.

O’Connell  joins Dave Foley in the second-row with captain O'Mahony coming into a back-row that also includes O'Donnell and James Coughlan.

Munster team to play Leinster: Felix Jones; Keith Earls, Casey Laulala, Denis Hurley, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley, BJ Botha; Dave Foley, Paul O' Connell; Peter O'Mahony(Capt), Tommy O'Donnell, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, Alan Cotter, Donncha O'Callaghan, CJ Stander, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Gerhard van den Heever.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport