| 9.5°C Dublin

O'Brien gets nomination

Sean O'Brien, Keith Earls and Isa Nacewa have been nominated by their fellow professionals for the IRUPA Player of the Year award, writes Hugh Farrelly.

The winner will be revealed at the players' body awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 4.

O'Brien has been a standout player in the Leinster and Ireland back rows this season while Earls excelled on the wing for Ireland in the Six Nations and on his return to Munster colours.

With Rob Kearney absent with injury since November, Nacewa has shone at full-back for Leinster, appearing in 27 matches and racking up 170 points, including seven tries.

Munster scrum-half Conor Murray, Leinster back-row Rhys Ruddock and Ulster centre Nevin Spence are in the mix for the IRUPA Young Player of the Year award while fans can nominate the Supporters' Player of the Year by tuning in and voting on Newstalk 106-108FM on Monday, April 25.

A new award this year is the O2 Rugby Moment of the Year, which singles out defining moments from the rugby season and will be voted for by the public via O2's facebook page www.facebook/ bethedifference.

Irish Independent